About Margaret MurphyNovels by Margaret MurphyAudio books by Margaret MurphyLinksEventsContact Margaret MurphyHome
  interview (RealPlayer)
     scrapbook archive
  reviewed authors
  in discussion with...
  Read a short story – Still Life

Margaret Murphy

Margaret Murphy is the author of nine internationally acclaimed psychological thrillers – both stand-alone and police series. Her work has been published in the UK and USA, and has been translated into seven languages across Europe. She won the 2012 CWA Short Story Dagger, and was previously shortlisted for the First Blood award for crime fiction, and the Crime Writers' Association (CWA) Dagger in the Library. She is a Writing Fellow and Reading Round Lector for the Royal Literary Fund, a past Chair of the Crime Writers Association (CWA), and founder of Murder Squad.

Margaret has been a countryside ranger, science teacher and dyslexia specialist, and her lifelong passion for science is reflected in her painstaking research for her novels. She has spoken on fictional representations of forensic science at the Forensic Science Society Conference (2006), and presented a talk to service users and specialists at the Tavistock and Portman Clinics (2007). In 2008, Margaret worked with the Macaulay Institute and other scientists, to develop a lecture involving scientists and novelists for the British Association’s annual Festival of Science, as part of their aim to bring science to a wider audience. The inaugural lecture of Murders, Mysteries and Microscopes was a sell-out and has become a regular feature, both at the festival, and elsewhere across the UK.

Margaret is now writing forensic thrillers under the pseudonym A.D. Garrett. Working in collaboration with forensics and policing expert, Helen Pepper, she has published three novels in the Fennimore and Simms series, which partners forensic scientist Prof. Nick Fennimore with Detective Chief Inspector Kate Simms. EVERYONE LIES, published in 2013 by Constable Crime, was a Kindle bestseller, and has received rave reviews.  BELIEVE NO ONE was  released in July 2014, and like Everyone Lies, was awarded a coveted ‘starred review’ by Publishers’ News.  The third in the series, TRUTH WILL OUT, is now out in paperback.

Margaret's interview on Legal TV

Includes a reading from Now You See Me


Weaving Shadows The Dispossessed Darkness Falls Past Reason Dying Embers Now You See Me Buy the novels from Amazon.co.uk
  site by pedalo ltd